top of page

ITC FAQ

Updated: Oct 4, 2022

Re: Windows 10


Must I use a Windows OS for this course?

No, you are free to use an Apple/Mac OS or a Linux; however, the course is designed to focus on the Windows 10 OS specifically, as this is standard in most office environments. I use a MacBook Air at home, so you'll see Mac layouts in my demos.

If you are interested and want the practice, our campus has Windows desktop computers you can use. Please refer to the guidelines regarding campus visits and contact front desk (604 580 2133) for an appointment.


Will we be learning about Macs as well? Will we be tested on Macs?

Sadly, no to the former; which means (lucky you!) no to the latter as well.


What resources are available for Mac users?

My demos are filmed on a Mac. I try to mention differences in layout and functionality whenever they occur. Please take advantage of office hour meetings for individualized instruction.


What about Chromebooks and other cloud-based devices?

These types of "computers" do not have the memory etc necessary to run desktop applications - you are limited to browser-based software, which is not sufficient for this course. Please see my video about freeware and the list of missing features.


Can I use a tablet or my phone?

No. Mobile devices have missing features in the available applications, like the online version.


 

Re: Microsoft Office


Can I use the browser-based versions of the Office programs (aka Office.com) for my assignments?

Theoretically, yes; the online versions, however, do not have full functionality. If you compare the ribbon to the one in the desktop program, you'll see it's rather empty. Some of the assignments call for functions which are not available online, such as columns in Word. I encourage you to take advantage of the free license provided by the college in order to use the desktop apps. Again, see my video about freeware and the list of missing features. Your assignment choices are limited if you use the online version.


How do I activate my free college license for Office? And how do I get the desktop apps?


Do I have to use the college's license or can I keep using the one I have?

If you already have access to the complete desktop versions of Word, PowerPoint, and Excel, then you're gucci and you don't need to use the college-provided account for this purpose; HOWEVER, if you are signed in to Office with an account other than your @vacc.college account, you will likely be signed in on Teams as a Guest or as "outside the organization." This means you will have limited access to the features within Teams such as chat, calendar, and channels.


Why are we learning Office specifically and not other softwares such as Google Docs/Slides etc, Open Office, Prezi, Canva...?

MS Office is the industry standard for the business world and is thus the software assigned by the college.

 

Re: Assignments


Do I have to make my documents with the Office programs, or can I use alternatives like Google Docs or Open Office?

You must submit your assignments as .docx, .xlsx, and .pptx files. If you're clever and find it's easier to work in a different program and convert the file, I'm not going to stop you. I mark the assignments within their respective programs. Do not convert to pdf as this caps your mark at a bare pass.


Do I have to use the exact situation example from the case study? For instance, in the Assignment 3 (PPT) Case Study "College Orientation," must I use our college information?

You have the freedom adapt the content to your program and your interests providing you fulfill all the formatting requirements. In the above example, you would be welcome to use information about our college, another school (it doesn't even have to be post-secondary), or an institution you've imagined. I encourage you to be creative!

The only caveat to this answer is Assignment 2 (Excel). Please follow the demo as precisely as possible as you are to recreate the worksheet. For a more creative assignment, see the Inventory demo.


Do I need to use real-world accurate information (for instance, do I need to use my real contact information)?

No! But if you do find information from elsewhere, please include citations.


Are there any secret requirements that aren't on the case study instruction sheets?

You will also lose marks for major spelling, grammatical, and mechanical errors; disorganized or unclear content; aesthetic concerns such as fonts or colours which make your document difficult to read; and misunderstandings/nonfulfillment of criteria. For detailed criteria, download the criteria pdf.


What about the activities in the pdf chapters?

These are not for marks, but are good little exercises for those of you who are new or uncomfortable using computers and/or the Office programs.


How do I submit my assignments?

On ECampus, in their original file types (do not convert to pdf). From within your ITC course, click Assignments > Assignment 1 (or 2, or 3) > Upload submission. You can drag in the file or upload it via the button that looks like a piece of paper with a star. You can view video demos here. If you need assistance, please take advantage of office hour.

If this is truly impossible, you may submit your files as attachments via email, but this is strongly not preferred.


When are the assignments due?

The final Friday of your course at 4pm unless you request an extension in writing in advance (deadline to request is the penultimate class, the Thursday). This is covered in detail in the Lab Policies and Thursday videos (Lectures tab).


Can I submit my assignments early?

Yes, but I will not mark them early.


Can I send you my assignments to look over before I submit them on ECampus?

No - I cannot give you an indication of expected grade or written feedback (see the academic integrity video). If you wish me to check an assignment in advance, join me in office hour and we will go over the document together.


Will you explain my grade to me?

Sure. Send me an email and I will get a breakdown to you when I get a chance. For now, check out my FAQ post about grades.


What resources are available to help me with my assignments?

On your Courses page, you will find video demos for all three assignments as well as a button leading to a page of example documents. Further, you can learn more about each program from their respective Courses pages - simply select from the dropdown menu.

Please refer to the meeting schedule for assignment checks and reviews. I am always available for drop-in assistance during office hour.


 

Re: Tests and quizzes


Why do you call the quizzes "bonus"?

When we were on campus, I used the quizzes as true bonus points which I added to your lowest mark, whether that be an assignment or test. Now that you take these tests on ECampus, the grading has shifted to accommodate. Each quiz is worth 2.5% for a total of 10% overall in the course. Because I only provide a generalized study guide for the quizzes, the questions still count as bonus (previously unknown) questions. I also allow you to retake the quizzes to get better marks.


I want to retake my Exam.

Unless you fail, you cannot retake your Exam because you had the study guides in advance. I will post eligible student numbers on the blog and assign a rewrite time during office hour.


I'm trying to retake my quiz and it says it's unavailable!

Don't worry - check the time. There's a 24-hour hold from when you complete the quiz to when you can reattempt. You can retake on Friday.


When do we take the quizzes?

Thursday right after attendance.


When do we take the exams?

Friday right after attendance.


Do we have to be on camera etc during the tests?

College camera policy says yes. If you want supervision or assistance, simply ask - I'll be hovering muted in the exam room.


Why are the tests weighted so heavily?

Honestly, I don't know. My preference is to focus on your practical application of the material, ie the assignments. Each exam is worth 30%, which, after factoring in the quizzes, makes written tests worth 70% of your final grade in ITC. I have tried to compensate for this by providing study guides, review videos, and review meetings in order to prepare you as best I can.

Comments


bottom of page