top of page

questions from emails, answered

When I try to join a Teams meeting, it says "somebody will let you in soon."

This means you are signing in with an external email. Sign out of Teams and sign back in using your college credentials:


email: 504200000@vacc.college (use your own student number)

pw: same as your ECampus


Otherwise, you will have to wait for a Teams member to join the meeting.


Can I use my personal email to join Teams?

Technically yes, but you will not have full access to the features such as private chat, calendar, and starting your own meetings.


How do I become a member of the Team?

I have already added all of you using your student record.


My Pearson (Word or Excel) shows a blue/yellow screen asking me to sign in. What do I do?

Close the tab and click the link again. You should not have to sign in as the account is linked to ECampus.


My Pearson (Word or Excel) shows a yellow box with text reading "course is not ready yet" or similar. What do I do?

Exit the tab. Hang tight and try the link again in a few minutes.


My Pearson (Word or Excel) shows a yellow box with a different error message. What do I do?

Copy the error message and send it to me via email or on Teams.


Is it okay to have a dummy background in the video instead of an actual one?

Absolutely! Here are the general camera policies: https://caitlinbaird1.wixsite.com/thelab/post/camera-policy-for-online-class


On my ecampus it shows my course as MSE4. Which means that I need to select Excel on the lab site. Is that correct?

Correct. Below are all the possible course codes for lab courses.

  • MSE = Excel

  • MSW = Word

  • MSP = PowerPoint

  • ITC = Intro to Computers

  • B1075R = Customer Relations

  • CES = Career and Employment Strategies

  • SSS/BC-PRD = Student/Academic Success Strategies

  • OSK = Office Skills

  • PSKO = Professional Skills

In the schedule, there is nothing for my course in week 2. Is that okay?

Yes! The document "Daily Schedule - All Courses" (downloadable from the tab The Lab) is to give you a sense of your course in context.

If your second week is fully blank, that means your course only lasts one week.

If your second week only shows the grades tracker, that means you're in a Pearson course. These are two weeks in length. All of your assignments are due on the final Friday, so there isn't a set schedule for you to complete activities.

For a schedule (with links) of meetings including study groups, drop-in time, and mandatory meetings, check out the Meetings tab: https://caitlinbaird1.wixsite.com/thelab/meetings

Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

Comments


bottom of page