top of page

22 July, Wednesday

Good morning everyone! We're halfway through our week. Check your schedules and the Monday post to confirm if your course lasts one or two weeks. As per the Lab Policies document, all of your assignments are due the final Friday of your course at 4pm. Refer to the Policies document and the welcome video for my policies regarding late submissions, extensions, and academic integrity.


Yesterday I uploaded a sourced demo to the Word Courses page re: page numbering. Today I will continue to add some sourced demos as per my list of requests. If you have any demo requests (primarily for Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, but I'm happy to demo anything for any course if it will help!) let me know via email so I can add them to my list. Where possible, I will film the demos myself; if I am unable because of the license issue, I will source a demo for you.


I will be resubmitting help desk tickets to IT this morning, so if you have an ongoing issue, please send me an email with a screenshot or other evidence. See this post if you need further instruction: https://caitlinbaird1.wixsite.com/thelab/post/technical-difficulties-what-to-do


Please watch the Wednesday video and come prepared with your questions to the morning meeting at 8.30.


Today's overview:



SSS - free work: citation assignment; Enriched Academy. Remember this is a one week, pass/fail course, with both the certificate from Enriched Academy and your citation assignment due at 4pm Friday.

At 10am today, we will have a second meeting to discuss the lecture material from yesterday, at which point I will take questions. A recap of your citation assignment:

- one topic of your choice

- can be persuasive (with a thesis) or can be purely informative (report style)

- approx 500 words, not including quotations

- minimum five sources (books, websites, videos...)

- an APA citations page which includes all five sources

- minimum of two quotations incorporated into your own writing

- minimum of one clearly attributed paraphrase

- APA in-text citations for all quotations and paraphrased information

- no block quotes (unintegrated quotes; three lines or longer)

- does not need to use or include APA style for other formatting elements


CES - today is the peer workshop. I have uploaded your submitted documents to the DropBox. Your job today is to read your peers' work and provide thoughtful feedback. Compare the resume and cover letter to the master ad. Is there anything important missing? Is it easy to read and understand? Are the experiences listed appropriate for the field? Watch the various videos on resumes and cover letters on the lab site; you can apply these tips to your edits. Also this post: https://caitlinbaird1.wixsite.com/thelab/post/ces-how-to-pitch-unrelated-experience

In the DropBox, check out the document "resume example 1" which has the green text box at the bottom. The comments in the green text box are examples of pros, cons, and suggestions. Use this as a guide for the type of feedback you are to provide for your classmates. Write out your feedback in separate documents and email them to me. I will put them in the DropBox so that tomorrow you can use each others' edits to make changes to your own work. My edits for you will also go up in the DropBox this morning.


ITC - continue with assignments and study guide. Please let me know if there's anything you need me to demo or further explain. Today or tomorrow, watch the appropriate Review video on the Lectures page.


MSE, MSW - continue with Pearson. Make sure you've watched the "How to check your grades" video so you can find the complete marking breakdowns from Pearson. Remember you have multiple upload attempts for everything, so you can check your work and attempt fixes. I am willing to increase attempts as needed. Please let me know if there is anything you need me to demo but keep in mind my current limited access to the MS programs.


OSK - if you are presenting tomorrow, use today to finish your slides and practice. If you haven't already, check out some of the resources on the PowerPoint Courses page - particularly, there's a video called "How to avoid death by PowerPoint" which I strongly suggest. Remember the grading rubric is on your Courses page to download. If you are presenting next week or have already presented, focus on the study guides for Friday's exam. To fill them in, start by going through the PPT files on the OSK Courses page. If you need more information on a subject, refer to your textbook (upper right corner of your Course page on ECampus). Today and tomorrow, use the Review videos on the Lectures tab - in these, I go through the study guides and the answers. Remember you take the exam in your second week of OSK. It's your choice whether you present in your first or second week, but typically students choose the penultimate day of class.

Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

Comments


bottom of page