top of page

19 August, Wednesday

Good morning! I'll be on campus today after our morning meeting. If you wish to meet with me (particularly if you need in-person computer assistance) please email to make an appointment. You will need to bring your mask and sign in at the front desk. My classroom is Room 202.

If you have any demo requests, please email them to me this morning so I can add them to my list for while I'm on campus today.

Midweek is a good time to check your schedules (and the Monday post) to confirm if your course lasts one or two weeks. As per the Lab Policies document, all of your assignments are due the final Friday of your course at 4pm. Refer to the Policies document and the welcome video for my policies regarding late submissions, extensions, and academic integrity. I have resources for writing, citing, etc which do not violate integrity - these are linked at the bottom of the Citations tab.

If you are experiencing any issues with accounts, software, etc, please let me know with screenshots. See this post if you need further instruction: https://caitlinbaird1.wixsite.com/thelab/post/technical-difficulties-what-to-do

Please watch the Wednesday video and come prepared with your questions to the morning meeting at 8.30.

Today's Zoom schedule:

8.30 - everyone

11 - Word, PPT, Excel office hours*

Note: each meeting will have a new link posted. The active meeting will be the most recent link.

*After our morning meeting, I will be closing the Zoom and going to campus to work on entering your grades. At 11, I will host a second meeting for any questions regarding Word, PowerPoint, or Excel (this includes ITC). I will leave the meeting running until class ends at noon, so you can drop in any time. You can share your screens with me and/or I will be able to demo using my classroom computer.


Course-specific instructions:


ITC week 1 - continue using the chapters linked on your Courses page to fill in your week 1 study guide. When you've found the answers, watch the ITC Review 1 video on the Lectures tab. At the end of tomorrow's class, we will have a meeting to discuss the material during which I will answer any questions you had, so please write down your questions as you progress through the material.

If you haven't yet, download the Assignment instructions from ECampus. Remember you can complete the three assignments in any order.


MSE, MSW, MSP - continue with Pearson. Make sure you've watched the "How to check your grades" video so you can find the complete marking breakdowns. Remember you have multiple upload attempts for everything, so you can check your work and attempt fixes. I am willing to increase attempts as needed. Please let me know if there is anything you need me to demo but keep in mind my current limited access to the MS programs.

If you are having trouble accessing Pearson, please send me a screenshot.

OSK week 1 - continue with your assignment booklet, downloadable from your Courses page. Remember there is a video on the Lectures tab which gives an overview of the expectations from the booklet. These are in-class exercises, and do not need to be as perfect as a project for which you are given more time.

I suggest you begin filling in your study guides (downloadable from your Courses page, labeled "Practice Midterm" and "Practice Final." As you progress through the material, make notes of any questions or confusion, as we will discuss everything Thursday.

OSK week 2 - if you are presenting tomorrow, use today to finish your slides and practice. If you haven't already, check out some of the resources on the PowerPoint Courses page - particularly, there's a video called "How to avoid death by PowerPoint" which I strongly suggest. Remember the grading rubric is on your Courses page to download.

If you have already presented, focus on the study guides for Friday's exam. To fill them in, read through the PPT files on the OSK Courses page. If you need more information on a subject, refer to your textbook (upper right corner of your Course page on ECampus). Today and tomorrow, use the Review videos on the Lectures tab - in these, I go through the study guides and the answers. Remember you take the exam in your second week of OSK. It's your choice whether you present in your first or second week, but typically students choose the penultimate day of class.

See you at 8.30.

Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

Comments


bottom of page