top of page

SSW ITC behaviour violation

I have never, in over a decade of teaching, been spoken to by students with such venom. I am disgusted, disappointed, and deeply hurt. I appreciate those of you who have already emailed me positive messages. I see you and I value you.


I have already entered a failing grade for the person who chose to shout at me today. I have also reached out to the Social Work instructors, Student Services, and our Campus Director regarding the unacceptable behaviour displayed.


If you are unable to continue this course without displaying abusive behaviour, do not attend any further meetings. Finally, each student that violated my boundaries will have full reports added to your college record.


I would like to remind those of you who are continuing to take ITC of the following:

  1. I guarantee an extension until Monday the 14th at 4pm to anyone who asks me next Thursday in their progress email, as per Lab Policies, so please don't worry about having time to complete your work

  2. We'll have meetings next week to work on your assignments together and you'll also have opportunities to work in small groups

  3. The provided schedule is for a class that runs Monday to Friday - we are adapting it together so you can maintain your usual class hours

  4. I am happy to provide further demos and lecture material. All you ever have to do is ask in your progress email. That's what the progress email is for!

  5. Watch the lectures and fill in your study guide. You don't need to memorize material that isn't on the study guide. I agree that theoretical knowledge tests aren't the best proof of whether you can use a computer, which is why I provide you with the questions (and answers via the Review video) in advance

  6. You may retake the quizzes to get better marks, and I'm happy to discuss the questions with you after your first attempt

  7. You may only take the exam once, as per your Student Handbook. Retaking exams is an accommodation which I only provide if you can provide reasonable extenuating circumstances, such as illness or technical problems. If you fail the exam, you may retake it

  8. I'm happy to supervise your test-taking to make sure you feel confident and supported. My usual method is to place each student in their own breakout room so you can raise your hand if you need any clarification etc

  9. The lectures give you an overview of the history and use of computers, the internet, and office software. The assignments are creative and an opportunity to apply the skills talked about in lectures

  10. Prerecording my lectures means I have time to work with you one-on-one. If I had to give every lecture live every week, there would be no more time for anything at all. If you ever have trouble or questions, email me or join the office hour meeting

  11. Try and have fun with it! Group work for the rest of class today :)


Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

Comments


bottom of page