top of page

re: group chats, boundaries

I strongly suggest connecting with your classmates, coursemates, and/or programmates. Evidence shows that studying in groups results in better grades for individuals. It's also beneficial to be able to check in with your peers about due dates, questions, etc. There are many apps you can use, including basic social media like Facebook.


Please note that if you are using the Zoom chat and you are not careful, you can and will post messages to the wrong person or even to the entire class. This happened with multiple students yesterday. While I'm a pretty tough cookie, I did not like seeing the comments about myself or my students while trying to answer your questions. We all pass notes or whisper in class. I'm not expecting monk behaviour. I am expecting kindness.


Be smarter with your bad behaviour, please.


I would also like to remind everyone of some basic email etiquette. Include your name. Avoid ALL CAPS SHOUTING. Be specific about your needs. And a reminder: if you send me something inappropriate, I will forward it to Student Services and a record will be made.


You can always take advantage of the feedback forms provided by the college or on this site. I value your input and always incorporate your ideas.


I care about you all and am committed to supporting you. I hope you can work with me too.

Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

Comments


bottom of page