top of page

PSKO wrap up

Thanks again for being such a great group. You really embodied the spirit of the course with your teamwork: you were supportive of each other at every opportunity, encouraging, thoughtful. I appreciated your communication with each other and with me.

For the bulk of the material, presentation skills, I admired your brave and willing plunge into public speaking that the course demanded. You all planned and executed your presentations well. I'm interested to read your responses to your peers' arguments. Remember a good response goes beyond yes/no binary agree/disagree - it goes into the how and the why. Be thoughtful. You may exceed word count if you feel inclined, within reason. I'll let you figure out what reason is.

If you were unable to present today due to technical issues, send me an email (with screenshots if possible) with your PowerPoint so I can see you're done. When I get back, we'll figure out a time to do the presentations. We'll do them in a Zoom meeting, and I'd like to do them all at the same time. Talk to each other about when would work for you as a group - my available hours for you will be roughly 9.30am - 1pm.


For the final element, personal marketing, I look forward to seeing what you come up with for visual resumes - remember it's meant to be the kind of bio you would put on the wall at your workplace, like a giant business card. It's up to you what information you want to include. Aim for business-casual energy.

I'd like to make a DropBox for your visual resumes so I can share them with you as a class, and you can all have another opportunity to get to know each other better. When you submit, let me know if you're comfortable having your work put in the group DropBox for your classmates to see.

Next week, in CES, you'll be creating a variety of job application materials with much more editing and lecture material on the subject. This little exercise is meant to be more fun and casual, so do try to have fun with it. Introduce yourself as a MLA. Who are you as a healthcare professional, or as a healthcare student?


I will try to have your grades up on ECampus the week I return, but please be patient with me if it takes an extra week.


I will, however, scan and email your solo presentation feedback while I'm on my holiday. For now, know I was really proud of all of you, especially those of you who were feeling the nerves. I know you will only build more confidence as you progress through the program together.


You're already a strong and connected cohort; best of luck. You're always welcome in the lab, or to email me anytime.

Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

Comments


bottom of page