top of page

PSKO: 10 July, Friday

Hello afternoon friends!


On the Lectures tab, check out the "Friday" video. Also, read through this morning's posts for instructions about what to do next week (and today for wrap-up). Importantly, please fill out the Feedback form for me: https://caitlinbaird1.wixsite.com/thelab/feedback

This is the first time running this course at Surrey campus, and certainly the first online, and obviously the first for me; I really appreciate your comments and suggestions, particularly about which resources worked for you and what I should add for the next round of students. Thanks for being such lovely guinea pigs. I appreciate you all.

On ECampus, there's an option for feedback (yellow rectangle at the top of your course page). Please complete the survey, but note I do not see the results from ECampus feedback - it goes to admin. I don't even know what they ask you. So, if you have any action items for me, please please ensure you include them in the lab site form (linked above) so that I can incorporate your ideas going forward. All feedback is anonymous, so feel empowered to be mean to me if you so desire.


The posts from this morning also include important information about next week and planning for it. I've linked an FAQ about what to do Monday when you start a new course.

From tonight until Monday 20th July, I am taking holiday, very exciting, and Cheryl will be covering for me. She's going to join us at the beginning of our meeting because she says, quote, she "need[s] to have a very IMPORTANT chat with the MLA students today." No idea if this is related or not.


I've emailed everyone their group feedback sheets this morning. Remember everyone on the team received the same feedback.


Thank-you all for your outlines and citations. I've read through and am looking forward to your presentations this afternoon. We have a range of subjects being covered and I'm sure you will all enjoy each other's work. Remember you need to persuade your audience of something. We will begin presentations after Cheryl's all-caps CHAT with you. I'll flip a coin and we'll either start from the bottom of the class list, alphabetically, or the top. Sorry As and Zs. I'm a BAird, so I feel your pain, but it's undeniably efficient.


Note: your outlines receive a pass/fail completion grade; I will, however, be referring to them while I grade your presentation.


Our presentations, with 17 students capped at 5 minutes each, should take 85-90 minutes - that is, an hour and twenty-five or thirty minutes, accommodating for a few minutes of turnover and questions.


With your progress email today, please submit Assignment 2.5. This is a short response to one of your classmate's presentations - 250 words minimum, 500 words loose maximum. Please send as an attachment, and include your name in the file name.

Primarily, I want you to respond to the arguments made. Was it persuasive? Were you convinced? Did you believe them? Learn from them? Agree or disagree? Why or why not? What was your previous experience with/opinions on the topic? Which elements of rhetoric (logos = logic, reasoning, and hard facts, ethos = ethical and credible, pathos = sympathy, empathy, emotion) were used in the argument(s)? Which were strongest and why? Was the subject suitably narrow enough to argue?

This is a persuasive response - you may wish to include some ethos and pathos, such as evidence from experience which calls the reader (me) to empathize and thus agree with you. For the logos element, you may wish to take point form notes during presentations you're considering for your response. My suggestion would be to divide your notes for each presentation into the three (or four, if you include kairos) elements of rhetoric.

You may wish to respond to more than one presentation, or synthesize a response about multiple presentations. Yes please! If you choose to respond to a couple of separate, unrelated presentations, your word count for each should be about 300 words.

Note: don't sweat and toil over this. It's meant as an in-class exercise to help engage with and identify rhetorical (persuasive) styles/techniques. I won't be posting these or anything, so you can disagree with your classmates as heartily as you wish - our little secret. And no, I won't be taking your responses into account when grading the presentations.


Finally, we have the visual resume exercise. For this, all I want you to do is make me a page (or two maximum) which functions like a little Intro To You poster. Imagine it taped up behind front desk, or in a hall on the way to treatment rooms, or in a staff room. Alternatively, you could imagine this as the bio that would go on the website for a clinic/school/hospital/etc where you work.

You guys are going to have patients for clients - what info would you put on there if you wanted them to know who you were? What if you work in a big hospital, and the visual resume is for other staff members? You can also think of your classmates as your audience - introduce them to your professional self. Feel free to have a different scenario if appropriate. Your choice, but let me know your target audience.

You can include a photo of yourself if you wish.

Try to balance fun/interesting facts about you and character traits with your most impressive/relevant resume items. This is way less formal than a real resume.

You can use point form or prose. I guess you could write in verse if you felt like it. Make it pretty - this doesn't have to be fancy, but the layout should be clear and work well if the page were taped up to a wall. Larger fonts, white space, borders, etc are all good ideas. If graphic design is your thing, go off, show off, love it. If it's not, focus on visual harmony and clarity.

My example document is meant as a starting point for you. I've included a prose section with an overview of my academic and professional experience, a headshot, and a couple point form facts about me. You are free to get creative with this - I encourage you not to design your content or your layout based too heavily on mine.

This is designed as an in-class exercise, but it will actually be due 9am tomorrow. If you wish to have an extension for it, please mention this in your progress email this evening and you may have until Monday.

Note: I won't be checking until I come back from holiday, probably, but I will check the timestamps on the email. See Lab Policies for details of my late policy.


I think that's everything. Thanks again for hanging out with me this week, for your thoughtful responses, for your proactive participation, for your willingness to work. It's been a pleasure getting to know you individually and as a class. You are always welcome in the lab, on campus or online.


See you at 1pm.

Related Posts

See All

meeting links: 16th-20th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

meeting links: 9th-13th September

Subject to change. If you have trouble finding meetings, please bookmark this post for the week. Ensure you remain in your meeting for...

approved extensions 09-06

The following students are approved for extensions which will expire Monday 9th September at 4pm . Please contact me Monday morning if...

댓글


bottom of page