top of page

progress email FAQ

Updated: Jul 18, 2022

1. When do I send it?


At the end of each class. I have written 12.30 on the Daily Schedule as a guideline.


2. What do I include?


Firstly, summarize what you did today during class. Did you access any resources? Did you interact with classmates? Did you start work on an assignment? Let me know.


Second, characterize your experience. If you watched one of my lecture videos, did it make sense? Or were you left with further questions? If you took an exam, did you feel you had been adequately prepared?


Finally, let me know what your questions and/or concerns are. Give me action items. Tell me you want more examples, or a demo video. I want to support you the best I can. Your feedback is invaluable.


If you had no issues and it's all going swimmingly, just let me know what you worked on and tell me you have no questions.


This does not need to be formal or in depth or clever. I just want to know how you're doing.


See your daily schedule for any course-specific content requests.


3. What sort of response should I expect to my progress emails?


Unless there is a direct question or action item, I won't email you back. Please ask for confirmation of receipt if you are concerned. If you had a question, I will address it in the morning meeting as well as providing either a new resource, post on the Announcements tab, or whatever would be of assistance. I read through the emails in the morning before class.


4. Is this for marks?


No, but I do deduct attendance points if you fail to send them more than three times.


5. Do I have to send a progress email on the last day of my course?


Yes - same idea, anyway, but it's a wrap-up email. Let me know you finished everything and attach any assignments.


6. I sent you an email at some point during class. Doesn't that count?


Not unless the email included what you did during class and any associated questions.


7. I sent it late/I forgot yesterday! Am I in trouble?


No.


8. What is the point??


Because we are unable to be together in a classroom, the daily emails give me a chance to keep up to date with each one of you, even if you're quiet during meetings. I want to support you in any way I can to ensure your success. Communicating a summary of your day lets me stay in contact with you, get to know you, provide new resources, improve the courses, and make sure each student has the individual support you deserve. It also gives you an opportunity to digest the material from the morning.


9. What if I have mean things to say about you? I don't want to put that in an email with my name attached.


Fair enough. You have two avenues here: first, on the tab "The Lab," I have an anonymous contact form that you can use for any purpose; second, on the tab "Feedback," you will find a brief form which I ask you all to fill in on the final day of your course. Please still send me your emails.

Related Posts

See All

dress code - a reminder from Student Services

"Hello Students, It’s that time of year where the weather is getting warmer, the days are longer and folks are pulling out their shorts, tank tops and other summer wear. This also means it’s time for

bottom of page