top of page

B1075R response journal guide + example

The basics

Five “daily” entries to be completed at any time during the course. 500-word average. Due Friday before 4pm. 10% total – 2% each. Please note my example is only 350 words - download from the bottom of this post. I suggest you theme your responses to the theme of the video selection for that day, but you are free to include any/all course material, your personal experiences and opinions, and information from other sources. While I do not require formal citation for these entries, please attribute your sources whenever possible. By the end of the week, you should have developed a personal philosophy of customer service.

Questions to ask yourself

Hold these thoughts throughout the course.


· Who are “customers” in my field? Example: students, patients, clients… · What is my cultural background? Example: immigrant, French-speaking, · What is the predominant culture of my profession? Example: English-speaking, post-Protestant, competitive · Which identities intersect in my field? Example: age, race, gender… · How do my identities influence the way I help others? · How do my identities influence the way others interact with me?


Questions to ask about the material

These are just examples to get you started. There are no wrong answers, but note that a good entry will explain and support its connections and claims.

· What is the main argument being made?

· Which points do I agree/disagree with?

· Which information was new to me? What was familiar?

· If I learned this before, where did I learn it?

· Do I need to learn more about this? How should this be taught – to students? To workers?

· How is this similar/dissimilar to the other videos from today? From the other days?

· What interactions have I had that could relate to the themes?

· How can I enact this advice in the workplace? What can employers do about it?

· Does my opinion on this change depending on if I’m the worker or the customer?

· What is the most interesting fact you learned?

· What is the most interesting conversation being had between the different videos?


Example entry: downloadable

b1075r response journal guide
.docx
Download DOCX • 20KB

bottom of page